Finally! A photo software setup for Linux I can live with.

After spending a completely ridiculous amount of time fiddling, researching and experimenting with software over a period of years, I’ve finally found a setup that seems to work well for editing photos. Huge breakthrough, earth shattering. I have an online shop, and do one of a kind pieces, so I need a simple setup that will let me go through a bunch of photos, save presets and not spend an hour editing each individual image.

For a while this kept me from going fully to Linux from Mac, because I was still reliant on Lightroom. But even then, I liked the lightroom editor, but not the file organizing software, so I wasn’t content. I’m one of those finicky people who will fall into a deep google vortex trying to find optimum software for a small problem. What else to do with that personality weakness, than to write about it on the internet?

Here’s what I’m using now on Linux Mint:

Gwenview

For image browsing and simple cropping. It’s speedy and works better than any other I’ve tried. It has to be quick and responsive for the “flip through and pick and crop the good ones” stage.

Krita

For any serious editing. It serves the same function as Photoshop or Gimp, and I like the interface very much. It has a decent clone/healing tool that can be used for that one blemish on my mannequin that I can’t fix in real life so I edit it out.

RawTherapee

For filters that tweak the white balance, contrast, etc. Not quite as shiny and ideal as Lightroom, but once I find a good setting, I save it as a profile and then slap it onto each image. That’s huge, so I don’t have to twiddle twelve different sliders for each image. Pretty good!

This is all on Linux Mint 17 with the Cinnamon desktop. I don’t promise things won’t change, but I’m happy for now.

